Texas CHL Application Overview
Overview of the Complete Process of Applying for and Receiving a Texas Concealed Handgun License
Step 1: PreClass Requirements and Eligibility
Valid driver’s license or identification card
Current address, contact and employment information
Residential and employment information for the last five years
Information regarding any psychiatric, drug, alcohol, or criminal history (recent Class A or B misdemeanors for felonies, failure to pay taxes or child support and other infractions may disqualify an applicant
Valid email address and credit card (Visa, Mastercard, Discover, or American Express) ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE
The Concealed Handgun Law sets out the eligibility criteria that must be met. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age (unless active duty military) and must meet Federal qualifications to purchase a handgun. A number of factors may make you ineligible to obtain a license, such as: felony convictions and some misdemeanor convictions, including charges that resulted in probation or deferred adjudication; pending criminal charges; chemical or alcohol dependency; certain types of psychological diagnoses protective or restraining orders, and defaults on state or city taxes, governmental fees, or child support. Eligibility requirements can be found in by clicking here.
Step 2: Complete a qualifying course
A CHL license candidate also must pass the Texas CHL license course, which includes four to six hours of classroom instruction plus a shooting proficiency test. The classes can only be taught by a currently certified Texas CHL instructor. (Law enforcement instructors, military instructors and NRA instructors cannot satisfy this requirement.)
Upon successful completion of the training class, our instructor will provide you with a Certificate of Training (CHL-100).
Step 3: Obtain fingerprints
The fingerprint processing fee is $9.95, payable to MorphoTrust USA by one of the following methods:
Online with a credit card
At the MorphoTrust USA location, payment must be made by check or money order.
Online scheduling is available at https://tx.ibtfingerprint.com
Telephone (888) 467-2080
Step 4: Submit Your Application to DPS
File an online application with the Texas Department of Public Safety. The application can be submitted online via this page.
The sequence of the above is completely up to the applicant and can be done in any order. Most applicant’s apply online, set up their fingerprint appointment, pass the certification test and proficiency demonstration, and send in the certification form provided by the instructor (form CHL-100) once the course is completed successfully.
What happens after everything is submitted?
When all of the above requirements are completed, the DPS will initiate a background check. Assuming no problems, a license will be issued.
The process minimally can take weeks, possibly several months. The license that is issued closely resembles a driver’s license. It is good for five years and may be renewed online.
For renewals, additional testing is no longer required.